Book Wars

By now anyone either writing or reading books has heard about the contract talks between Amazon and Hachette. And just about everyone has taken sides, weighing in with opinions measured as fact and hurling various levels of insults at the other side. 

So, far be it from me to go without sharing my opinion.

First off, a tangent. I’m a gamer. I have or have had a Gamecube, Wii, PS2, PS3, Xbox, Xbox 360, Xbox One and more than 60 games on Steam (PC). I’ll likely pick up a PS4 at some point. I’m a frequent poster on NeoGAF, a forum where people spend a lot of time talking about games (and other things). One of the things gamers like to do is argue about which platform is better. These threads typically escalate into the same kind of behavior we’re seeing now in the Amazon/Hachette situation.

Therefore, I’m taking Console Wars and changing it to Book Wars.

And my opinion on the matter really boils down to my opinion on the consoles. Essentially, if you’ve developed a great game I want to play, I’m going to pick up the console it’s available on and play it there. I don’t care about anyone else’s opinion of “which console is ‘better'” or the number of frames per second a game can be played at. Is it a good game? Then I’ll play it.

For books this boils down to the same thing. Have you written a good book? I’ll read it. I don’t care about the cover (I know a lot of people do, but the cover doesn’t change the words inside). I don’t care whether it’s been professionally edited. If an indie author hasn’t taken the care to get feedback and correct basic writing problems, then it’s not a good book. And therefore I’ll steer away. On the other hand, there are plenty of books that have gone through the whole shebang and I’ve wondered: did anyone edit this? 

Here are a couple of things I do consider. Number one, publishers cannot possibly publish all the good books that have been written. There are very good books in slush piles. It’s simply not possible to pick up every single author who has written a good book, spend real money on them, and send it out to market & sell. The publishers would go out of business. So Amazon’s digital platform provides a fantastic opportunity for authors to make their work available. I applaud them for it. I appreciate the opportunity it has given me. 

Number two, the price of a Kindle book is going to be a battleground. I can get a good indie book for anywhere between $1 and $6. Most of the Hachette Kindle books on my wish list are $10 and up. I firmly believe that Hachette is losing money by not shifting their Kindle prices down. But that’s Hachette’s problem to deal with, not Amazon’s. If Hachette wants to leave money on the table, then by all means the indies (me included) will be happy to scoop it up. 

There are hundreds of thousands of good books available to be read, with more coming every day. The number of books with four star ratings and up on various sites is simply beyond anyone’s ability to read in a lifetime. Now, if you really really want that new Brandon Sanderson book, then you’re gonna pay that $10+ for it. But if you’re just looking for something amazing to read, then you may decide “I can pick up these three indie books for the price of one Brandon Sanderson book.”

The world of publishing is changing. It’s also changing in games, where indies produce some fantastic titles and sell them for less than $10. What it comes down to is the market. This is where the market will decide the pricing structure. What price will be the market bear for Kindle books? From a business standpoint, neither Amazon nor Hachette should be trying to set that price. The market will set it… and then we can go back to fighting about whether iOS or Android is the better phone.

Leave a Reply

